FREE ITS WEB PILOT_Connected Vehicles Certification Testing Introduction

Tuesday, May 2, 2017, 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM (UTC-5:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)

Time: Noon ET/11am CT/10am MT/9am PT

Course Description:

This module begins with an introduction to the certification testing process of RSU and OBU devices to insure that communications between vehicles and roadside equipment is private, secure and interoperable throughout North America. It is essential that agencies use standards certification tests in deploying connected vehicle technologies to maximize the benefits from the connected vehicle environment. By taking this module, participants will learn how to specify certification requirements in contract terms and conditions. Deploying certified Connected Vehicles equipment will support interoperability, minimize future integration costs, make procurements easier, and facilitate regional and national integration.

 

The module then presents the relevant standards for the Connected Vehicles wireless “stack”, which is comprised of the software implementation of the message protocols and dialogs between vehicles (V2V) and between vehicles and roadside infrastructure (V2I). The module then presents an overview of the Roadside Unit (RSU) Hardware Requirement Specifications and RSU Software Requirements Specifications that have been established for manufactures. Finally, the module describes traceability from Requirements to Test Specifications, Test Cases, Test Procedures for independent test labs and Test Certification Report requirements for procurement contracts.

Target Audience
• Public Sector Managers of surface transportation systems and agencies
• Procurement officials for surface transportation agencies
• Decision Makers
• Private and public sector users including manufacturers

Learning Objectives

1. Identify necessary Connected Vehicles equipment needed for a typical signalized intersection

2. Identify relevant USDOT Requirements Specifications for both RSU hardware and RSU software for inclusion in procurements contract terms and conditions

3. Understand the role of Certification Testing within the context of a systems lifecycle

4. Develop a Certification Plan

Instructor: Dave Miller

Mr. Miller has more than 36 years of experience in the management, design and development of critical control systems including traffic control, Bus Rapid Transit, Connected Vehicle, petrochemical process control, pipeline control and oil field production. Specific ITS experience includes the design and first deployments of ATC 5201 (Linux) and ATC 5202 (Model 2070) ASCs as well as the design and first deployments of NEMA TS-2 ASCs with NTCIP. Connected Vehicle experience includes the ASCs and software for the USDOT Test Bed in Oakland County MI, the USDOT Safety Pilot in Ann Arbor MI and test beds in the EU and UK.



Course Credit: 1.5 PDH

Location

Online Instructions:

Comments

Tag